FREE CASE EVALUATION

Question: Will someone convicted of DUI/DWI be sent to jail in Maryland?

Answer: Well, a DUI charge in Maryland does carry jail time for a first offense along with either a $500 or a $1,000 fine maximum, depending on the offense number. So, in determining if somebody can go to jail for a first time conviction, the answer is yes, that can happen. Albeit in practice, it generally does not happen on a first offense unless there are aggravating circumstances such as either a high BAC number—typically in excess of a .20 or some judges may consider it after a .15—or if there is another aggravating circumstance such as an accident or a high rate of speed, such as traveling near 100 miles an hour give or take or more as you sometimes see. For a standard DUI charge where somebody blew a .08 or a .12 and they were not speeding excessively and there was not an aggravating circumstance, generally speaking a jail sentence for a weekend or something would no be something you would normally see as a result of a case as long as there was competent counsel involved.

CAR ACCIDENTS

Find the answer to your questions: What Do I Need To Do Next? What Can I Recover? Should I Get a Lawyer?…

MOTORCYCLE BICYCLE ACCIDENTS

Rider are at a disadvantageon the roads. Fortunately,there is legal protection…

TRUCK ACCIDENTS

Find out why accidentsinvolving trucks are differentfrom car accident cases…

MEDICAL MALPRACTICE

Medical provider are expected to be careful and precise, yet mistakes are common…